Property crimes include theft, criminal mischief, burglary, robbery, criminal trespass, arson and forgery. Some of these charges are considered crimes of moral turpitude and can have long-term consequences. The Law Office of Ian Michael Kuecker, PLLC will fight to protect your future and defend those falsely accused of property crimes.
If you have been accused of committing a theft crime, you need to hire a criminal defense lawyer who has experience handling cases of this nature. A criminal defense lawyer knows the system better than anyone and has successfully defended clients charged with a number of theft crimes, such as:
- Petty theft
- Grand theft
- Motor vehicle theft
- Armed Robbery
- Credit card theft
- Identity theft
Property crimes can include the following:
- Burglary, including burglary of vehicles
- Criminal trespass
- Criminal mischief
- Reckless damage or destruction (vandalism)
What are the penalties for theft in Texas?
The penalty for theft depends on the severity of the theft. The charge and punishment's severity correlates with the worth of the item stolen. For example, an individual who steals a video game worth less than $50, will likely receive a class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine less than $500. However, an individual who embezzles millions of dollars from his or her company could be charged with a first-degree felony punishable by 5 years to life imprisonment.
To better explain the penalties for theft in Texas, please review the following:
Class C Misdemeanor
- Theft Amount: Less than $50, or less than $20 if by check.
- Penalty: A fine that cannot exceed $500.
Class B Misdemeanor
- Theft Amount:$50 or more but less than $500, or $20 or more but less than $500 by check.
- Penalty: Imprisonment not to exceed 180 days in county jail and/or a fine not to exceed $2,000.
Class A Misdemeanor
- Theft Amount:$500.00 or more but less than $1,500.
- Penalty: Imprisonment not to exceed 1 year in county jail and/or a fine not to exceed $4,000.
State Jail Felony
- Theft Amount:$1,500 or more but less than $20,000.
- Penalty: Imprisonment ranging in length from 180 days to 2 years in state jail and/or a fine not to exceed $10,000.
- Theft Amount:$20,000 or more but less than $100,000.
- Penalty: Imprisonment ranging in length from 2 to 10 years in state prison and/or a fine not to exceed $10,000.
- Theft Amount:$100,000 or more but less than $200,000.
- Penalty: Imprisonment ranging in length from 2 to 20 years and/or a fine of not to exceed $10,000.
First Degree Felony
- Theft Amount:$200,000 or more.
- Penalty: Imprisonment ranging in length from 5 years to life imprisonment and/or a fine not to exceed $10,000.
If you are facing any of the above theft charges, or if you are seeking a competent and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney, please contact our office.
I was convicted of shoplifting, but now I am being sued civilly, how is that possible?
Texas has a Shoplifting Liability Act, which allows the store owner to sue a convicted shoplifter civilly for the cost of the stolen good and for the cost of recovery. If an individual is convicted of shoplifting, the store owner may bring a civil action against the individual to recover not only the cost of the good, but up to $1,000 from the individual for actual damages. Additionally, if a minor is convicted of shoplifting, his or her parents may be liable to the shop owner up to $5,000 for actual damages.
If you find yourself in a situation where you are being sued civilly for shoplifting, you need an experienced defense attorney to help protect you. The Law Office of Ian Michael Kuecker, PLLC has experience who can counsel and advise you so your interests are protected. Please contact us for more information or if you have any questions.
What are the penalties for property crimes in Texas?
Generally, the range of punishment for a particular charge is dependent on the level of the offense committed. With property crimes, the level of offense is determined by the value of the property that wad damaged, and can range anywhere from a class C misdemeanor (if the pecuniary loss of the property is less than $100.00) all the way up to a first degree felony (if the pecuniary loss of the property is $300,000.00 or more).
If you are facing any charges for property crimes, or if you are seeking a competent and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney, please contact our office.